Hidden Treasures.

Yesterday I had the pleasure of spending the day in Sligo town enjoying two of my favorite pastimes, eating a delicious lunch and browsing the second-hand shops for hidden gems.  Sligo has plenty of charity shops to choose from so I never come away empty-handed.  I get to go home with something new(ish) and the various shops get some much-needed donations for their charities. Perfect!  Everybody’s happy.

This latest ‘spree’ proved particularly fruitful.  First of all I found this gorgeous little coffee cup, its gold decoration will add a touch of class to my morning coffee.Image

Next on my treasure hunt was a real gem.  In keeping with the gold and white theme I came across this beautiful milk jug.  Image

I couldn’t believe my luck! I already have some saucers with this exact pattern so I was delighted to give this jug a new home.  The coincidence couldn’t be ignored.ImageImage

The saucers are Arklow pottery, an Irish company which opened in the 1930s in Arklow, Co Wicklow.  Sadly, I think the company has closed down but finding the jug has whetted my appetite for finding some more Arklow pieces.

The jug doesn’t have any stamp but the pattern matches the saucers perfectly.  Whether or not it’s Arklow pottery it has taken its place in my kitchen with its juggy cousins.Image

It fits as though it has always been there.

Leave a Reply

