Old Denims Die Hard…

sweetwilliamblooms

At last my Sweet William has bloomed.  It’s the first time I’ve grown this butterfly-friendly plant and I’m very happy I gave it a go.  Its lovely pink and white flowers add a gorgeous splash of colour to the garden although I’m still waiting on the butterflies!

cushion2

While waiting I’ve been busying myself making cushion covers.  Remember last time I had some lovely tea-towel/scrap fabric I wanted to transform?  Well here’s the result.  The first of three summery cushions ready for lounging around in deck-chairs spotting butterflies during our long hot days.  Well, that’s the idea anyway…

cushions

Here are the other two.  I love the stripes but I love the patchwork even more!  I teamed the two fabrics I had with some denim from an old pair of jeans and I’m very happy with the result.  The colours and patterns on the fabrics work really well together.  This is my first foray into the world of patchwork and I can already tell there’ll be no going back.  Addictive.  That’s all there is to it.

yellowdogdayssummerpolkadotfabric

Staying with summery fabric check out the dress I found at a local jumble sale.  I fell for the polka dots straight away and decided to use the fabric for another project.

polkadot bunting2

The old jeans came in handy again and the denim gives my polka dot bunting a lovely 1950s summer feel.  I think the next patchwork project will involve these two fabrics.  After all the washing and wearing the denim has faded and softened really nicely and it’s always hard to give up on a favourite pair of jeans isn’t it? This way they’ll get to hang around a while longer…

Leave a Reply

