Ready To Go!

ready to go

Here it is, my first assignment ready to go. It’s taken me ages to actually finish it even though there was nothing complicated or difficult about any of the exercises; it was making the time that was the tricky part. Setting time for coursework and sticking to it is easy in theory but sometimes in practice…

Anyway, I enjoyed each part of the assignment (when I did allow myself the time) and it felt great to make marks and admire the black lines on white paper purely for their own sake.

Mark Making

mark making pencil

Starting with pencils, each round of scribbles, dashes, swirls and doodles became slightly addictive. Reminds me of doodling while on the telephone.

brush with indian ink

I used Indian Ink instead of gouache with a brush and loved the smoothness of the application. Very therapeutic to watch the tone change.

fat sharpie and masking fluid

I had never use masking fluid before and I enjoyed the anticipation of waiting for it to dry. You never know quite what your going to get as you peel it off. I used it here with a fat sharpie marker and quite like the result. A sort of ‘cartoonish’ repeat pattern. Bold and blocky.

charcoal and maskig fluid

This time I used the masking fluid with charcoal. Kind of zebra-like result. I also learned about the paper peeling off with the fluid if your not careful.

stick and gouache

This is one of my unconventional tools, a stick with gouache. I love the little random circles.

grass stems and indian ink

This time I used cut grass stems and indian ink again. I like the pattern these little circles make with the edge of each one slightly darker.

gull feather

A gull feather was probably my favourite of the unconventional tools. It felt languorous and smooth across the paper. It even sounded peaceful with a slight swish. Very pleasing lines.

grass seed heads and indian ink

These marks are the opposite of the languid gull feather. Grass seed-heads with indian ink, all bunched together and swirled around the paper. Lively and unpredictable. It makes for exciting, jittery marks; just like seed-heads in the wind. A tip for the next time: don’t wear your new white t-shirt when doing this exercise…

My favourite aspect of the mark making exercise was using the unconventional tools. I really liked their unpredictable nature and this helps in ‘letting go’ and just relishing the act of making marks on the page.

Drawing

fork first drawing

I put this off for ages. I don’t feel that drawing is my strongpoint but, as is usually the way, once I started I found myself relaxing and becoming quite absorbed. Having said that I hated my drawings of the fork. They’re so fat and dumpy whereas the fork is actually a lovely long, elegant object. Something to work on…

nutcracker first drawing

My other kitchen utensil, a nutcracker. A little happier with this drawing but I know I’m not paying enough attention to detail.

Left-hand Drawing

fork left hand

Drawing using my left hand actually helped me loosen up. It helps when you haven’t as much control over your lines and the results were pleasing. Interestingly, I found myself paying more attention to the actual object.

nutcracker fine sharpie

I had always steered clear of using felt pens but after the mark making exercise I enjoyed the quality of the lines the sharpie made.

left hand fork gouache

Again, drawing with paint would have been something I avoided but using my left hand it didn’t seem to matter as much if I went ‘wrong’.

fork with gull feather

For my final, large drawing of this exercise I chose the gull feather with gouache to paint the fork. I got closer to the look of the object. Nice long, clean lines.

Continuous Line

continuous drawing fork

I chose the felt-tip for this, the fine sharpie. I really enjoy the boldness of its mark, the very definite black lines even though you can be quick and light in using it.

Blind Drawing

nutcracker blind drawing

Using pencil to draw the nutcracker blind gave the drawings a light feel in contrast to the heavy, definite look of the object. You really get to know your subject using this method, staring while being unconcerned about the look of the finished drawing. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

Final Selection

blind drawing final selection

Blind drawing was the method I chose for my final selection. I used the fine felt-tip to draw the fork, the more simple object but also the one which I had the most difficulty representing.

blind drawing final selection 2

It was a treat to allow the pen roam as my eye followed the lines of the fork.

blind drawing finla selection 3

I’d love to see these repeated on a table cloth or something else on a large scale. ¬†definitely my favourite exercise.

Leave a Reply

